Welcome
You may contact me at 708-534-4139, or pblobaum@govst.edu .
Or in my absence, please contact the Library Reference Desk for assistance. l-refere@govst.edu or 708-534-4111 .
Comments (0)
Search GSU Library Stuff
For the Library Journals list and access by subject, please click here.
Other Local Library Catalogs
- Chicago Public LibraryA link to access your account and the materials of the Chicago Public Library System (login required).
- SWAN Online CatalogLocal online catalog for the RAILS Library System, which includes public libraries that serve the Chicago suburbs.
- WorldCatSearch more than 1.4 billion library items (not all items are available for interlibrary loan).
Search Strategies
Strategy to locate and access copies of articles
- Conduct a literature search in the recommended indexes (above)
- Many indexes include full-text articles in PDF, TXT, and HTML formats. Use the
icon to for links to other options - If you have a citation (Journal name, article title, year, volume number, etc) use the Full Text Journals List to locate content.
- Double check the GSU Library Catalog to locate journals in print
and microfilm formats, if not found in the Full Text Journals List.
Journal Articles, Literature Searching
The most important databases for Addiction Treatment are Medline/PubMed, and PsycINFO.
- PsycINFO American Psychological Association, index to behavioral sciences and mental health literature. Excellect coverage of Addictions literature.
- PubMed(MEDLINE) Excellent coverage of Addictions Literature, 1966-present
- SocINDEX(EBSCO) SocINDEX is a primary research source in sociology and related fields. Search SocINDEX for information in all areas of sociological research, including criminology & criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, political sociology, social anthropology, social psychology, social work, substance abuse & addictions. Also included are conference papers, author profiles, and content from the Criminal Justice Abstracts database.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health literature. Useful for nursing and allied health intervention literature.
- Criminal Justice PlusProquest module.
- Academic Search Complete(EBSCO) Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,052 journals in the collection.
- ERIC Produced by the US Dept of Education, ERIC indexes journal articles in Education, and documents in the ERIC clearinghouse. Use this for prevention, and interventions in schools and educational settings, and drug education
- Dissertation and Theses DatabaseIndex and full text to masters and doctoral theses.
Paul Blobaum |
Contact Info Reference Office, D2410 708-534-4139 (leave a message) pblobaum@govst.edu (pref Send Email |
Browse Main Stacks Areas
Try these LC areas for browsing Addictions Studies titles:
Alcoholism/ Drug Abuse
HV5001-HV5840
Alcoholism (medicine)
RC 564.7+
Drugs of Abuse
RM316
Crack, Psychiatry
RC568.C6
Inhalation Toxicology
RC720
Detoxification
RA784.5


Loading...
