Search GSU
For the Library Journals list and access by subject, please click here.
Other Local Library Catalogs
- Chicago Public LibraryA link to access your account and the materials of the Chicago Public Library System (login required).
- SWAN Online CatalogLocal online catalog for the RAILS Library System, which includes public libraries that serve the Chicago suburbs.
- WorldCatSearch more than 1.4 billion library items (not all items are available for interlibrary loan).
Comments (0)
Art Libary Resources
The following databases have been recommended for full text journal articles, articles in peer reviewed journals, citations & abstracts in Art.
Non-GSU Resources
Associations & Organizations
- ArtSource Arts Related Organizations
- Portal page with links to art related organizations
- Aesthetics On-Line
- Web page for the American Society of Aesthetics.
Electronic Journals
- ArtSource Art Journals Online
- Portal Page with links to online art journals.
Art Reference
-
Getty Institute: Vocabularies
Controlled art subject headings. -
Art on Film Home Page
Provides 25,000 records of "moving image productions" related to the fine and decorative arts. -
Artcyclopedia: The Guide to Museum-Quality Art on the Internet
Definitive guide to art online, at art museum sites and image archives worldwide. -
The Art History Research Centre
Key resources and methods of online research for art historians. -
Art Through the Ages
Links to images related to art history. -
ANU Art History Top Level Menu Page
Access to 120,000 images related to art history.
Artists
-
The Vincent van Gogh Information Gallery
Information on van Gogh's life and paintings. -
NGA | Mark Rothko Life Rothko
Life and works of Mark Rothko. -
Art History - Famous Artists
Access to over 22,000 artists and their paintings, photography, sculpture, design, etc. -
Honore Daumier and His Lithographic Work
This site provides information about 19th century French artist Honoré Daumier, including "a detailed biography, a bibliography ... a list of more than 700 Daumier exhibitions," tips for collectors, a list of significant collections, and more. -
Brandeis Libraries: Honore Daumier Lithographs
The site features a Daumier timeline, a slide show of Daumier lithographs, a link to a database with images of thousands of Daumier lithographs, and a bibliography.
Art Museums
- Musee-Online
Information on museums worldwide. - Getty Center Home Page
Access information and images from its collection. - National Gallery of Art - The Collection
Access information and images from the National Gallery of Art. - Smithsonian American Art Museum
Access information and images from the American Art Museum at the Smithsonian. - The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Introduces the largest art museum in the U.S. - MoMA | The Museum of Modern Art, New York
A valuable resource for introductory research. - Tate | Welcome
Guide to the national collection of British art since 1500 and of interntational modern art. - Site officiel du musée du Louvre
A well-organized and comprehensive guide to the Louvre. - The State Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia
Access information and images from The Hermitage Museum. - Museum Het Rembrandthuis
Information about Rembrandt, his works and his time. - Berkeley Art Museum + Pacific Film Archive
Access museum and archive resources. - The Saint Louis Art Museum
Oldest public supported art museum in the country. - The Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library
European paintings, sculptures and decorative arts. - WebMuseum: Bienvenue! (Welcome from the curator)
Access online art exhibits. - WWW Virtual Library: Museums - lists
Portal page with links to art museums with web sites.
Art Information Super Sites
-
Digital Archive of American Architecture
900 digitized images of American architecture -
Louis Agassiz Fuertes
One of the greatest bird artists in history. -
The AP Photo Archive
500,000 photographs document news events from 1840 to the present day. -
Bayly Art Museum: Power of Woe
E xhibition of women in prints from the Renaissance to the Present. -
Bayly Art Museum: Universes in Collision
Exhibition of men and women in 19th-century Japanese prints. -
African Art: Aesthetics and Meaning
Exhibition of images of African art. - Art on the Net (art.net)
Studios, gallery rooms, resources, soundbytes, and art happenings. - Online Art References
Links to a wide variety of art-related web sites. - World Wide Arts Resources - The largest gateway to the arts in the world .
The definitive, interactive gateway to all exemplars of qualitative arts information and culture on the Internet. - ArtSource
Art-related online resources.
Architecture
-
Gottscho-Schleisner Collection
Documents many building styles and trends throughout the U.S. -
Great Buildings Online
Includes photographic images, architectural drawings, discussions, bibliography, architect information and more on over 800 structures.
Style Manuals & Writing Guides
- Chicago Style
-
The Chicago or Turabian style, sometimes called documentary note or humanities style, places bibliographic citations at the bottom of a page or at the end of a paper.
-
Web Extension to American Psychological Association Style
Citing web documents with APA style. -
Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association
More citing web documents with APA style. -
Governors State University - Online Writing Lab
Resources and assistance in writing at GSU. - Purdue Online Writing Lab
-
Valuable information for anyone involved in writing.
Ready Reference
-
Reference Resources
Almanacs, Associations, Calculators, Calendars, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Maps, Phone Books, Quotations, Statistics, Style Guides. -
IPL Ready Reference Collection: Reference
Almanacs, Associations, Biographies, Calculators, Calendars, Census Data, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Periodical Directories, Phone Books, Quotations, Style & Writing Guides.
Michel Nguessan |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
