Last Updated: Mar 26, 2012
My assistance is available by appointment. Or stop by the library Reference Desk and a reference staff member can help you.
Strategy to locate and access copies of articles:
- Conduct a literature search in the recommended indexes (above)
- Many indexes include full-text articles in PDF, TXT, and HTML formats. Use the icon to for links to other options.
- If you have a citation (Journal name, article title, year, volume
number, etc) use the Full Text Journals List to locate content.
- Double check the GSU Library Catalog to locate journals in print
and microfilm formats, if not found in the Full Text Journals List.
- Criminology and Social Science Journal Collection (SAGE)
Sage is the publisher of many of our journals in health and social sciences. Use the Sage search engine to locate articles that the GSU has access to by limiting results to "SAGE journals available to me". Generally, citations to these journals are included in SocIndex, and other indexes.
- Criminal Justice Plus (Proquest)
This database includes Criminal Justice Periodicals Index, plus a selection of related modules from Proquest, including the Law Module, Research Library Core, and the Social Science Module.
Search SocINDEX for information in all areas of sociological research, including criminology & criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, political sociology, social anthropology, social psychology, social work, substance abuse & addictions. Also included are conference papers, author profiles, and content from the Criminal Justice Abstracts database.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Contains all of the EBSCO journals including those that cover criminal justice.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts - NCJRS.GOV
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. Free, and available on the NCJRS web site. Click on the "Library Abstracts" tab.
- Homeland Security Digital Archive
Over 89,900 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
- CQ (Congressional Quarterly ) Researcher
CQ Researcher is a full-text library of weekly reports on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Written by journalists, the documents are considered scholarly.
- Credo Reference Unlimited
Reference library featuring over 250 full-text scholarly reference titles with over 3 million entries from 57 highly-respected publishers integrated in a robust search engine with many unique interactive features.
- Dissertations and Theses
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. Includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The
- Chicago Tribune 1985- current
- Newspaper Source
- National CJ Reference Service - Library Abstracts
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. Free, and available on the NCJRS web site.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Legal research including Legal News, Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, State Case Law, Federal Code, Federal Regulations, State Codes, Tax Law, International Law, and Patents. Reference information including biographical information, Roper polls, CIA World Fact Book, and World Almanac.
- Proquest Congressional
Access to Congressional Publications, Legislative Histories, Bills and Laws, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Congressional Record, Rules of Congress, Political News, Hot Bills, Hot Topics, Members of Congress, and Congressional Committees.