This is the "Home" page of the "Clinical Preceptor Orientation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Clinical Preceptor Orientation  

Intro to the GSU Library and services for Clinical Preceptors! Thank you for serving our students!
Last Updated: Nov 17, 2016 URL: http://libguides.govst.edu/clinicalpreceptors Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Library

Welcome to the GSU Library.  We are pleased to serve you.  General information about the GSU Library including current hours is posted on the library's home page, http://www.govst.edu/library . 

Database Access

Access to the library's databases is available 24/7 to authorized faculty, staff, and students. 

Clinical preceptors can request access through the academic program faculty.  Please forward your name, phone number, and an email address, to your academic department, and we will forward your logon information to you.

Books, Videos

The Library's Catalog Voyager can be searched on the library's home page, using the "Find A Book" search.  

The library's E-Books, monograph, video, multimedia, and Government Documents collections are described in the Catalog, with links to the digital objects.  Circulation is available to those who possess current ID cards of I-Share libraries, or Prairie State, Moraine Valley Community College, South Suburban College, Kankakee Community College, and other SMHEC schools.   

Also, circulation privileges from the GSU library collection are available to members of the Friends of the Library at the "researcher" level ($100/year), retired faculty with Emeritus status, and current members of the GSU Alumni Association

Ebooks are generally available to users who are also authorized to access the library databases.


Journals

Indexes

The Journal Title List provides access to journals by browsing or through a title search.  A list of Nursing Journals is available on the Nursing LibGuide .  Users may browse journals online, but we teach students to conduct comprehensive literature searches in CINAHL and PubMed, as well as other databases, as effective strategies to locate articles.  Using an index to the literature is a powerful way to locate evidence for nursing education and practice.   Links to these databases and tutorials are available on the subject Research Guides. 


Formats and Location

The library's collection is in print, microfilm, and electronic formats.  The library discontinued most print/paper formats about the year 2003 in order to focus on electronic formats.   Photocopies from print and microfilm can be made in the library for 10 cents per page.  A digital microfilm reader enables users to scan or print microrprint materials. 

Print and Microfilm journals are shelved alphabetically by title in the Serials collection.

Electronic formats are imbedded in literature search results, OR can be located using the
  "Check GSU" Outside Tool icon. 


Article Access and Delivery

The GSU Library is a full member of the National Network, National Libraries of Medicine, IShare, CARLI, and the Chicago and South Consortium of Health Science Libraries.  When journal articles are not available at GSU, authorized users with a GSU ID card (current faculty, staff, students only) can request copies from Interlibrary Loan resource sharing networks using their University Library Barcode (located on the bottom of the GSU ID card).  Articles are usually scanned and emailed from lending libraries.   There are two ways to do this.

1.  Complete an Interlibrary Loan Journal Request form on the Portal. 

2.  Use the article request form available in the Outside Tool   in literature search results under "more".

 

Demonstration and Tutorials

Go to our Research Guides, click on "Hot To..." tab for database and research tutorials 
Librarian Contact

Paul Blobaum  pblobaum@govst.edu  Please include EMAIL address so I can respond! 

11/17/2016

Paul Blobaum

Profile Image
Paul Blobaum
Contact Info
C2310
pblobaum@govst.edu

Please email your questions to me, or call the Reference Desk 708-534-4111.
Send Email
 
Copyright © 2014 Governors State University | Privacy Policy
1 University Parkway, University Park, Illinois 60484-0975.
708.534.5000 library@govst.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip