Welcome
You may contact me at 708-534-4139, or pblobaum@govst.edu .
Or in my absence, please contact the Library Reference Desk for assistance. library@govst.edu or 708-534-4111 .
Search GSU
For the Library Journals list and access by subject, please click here.
Other Local Library Catalogs
- Chicago Public LibraryA link to access your account and the materials of the Chicago Public Library System (login required).
- SWAN Online CatalogLocal online catalog for the RAILS Library System, which includes public libraries that serve the Chicago suburbs.
- WorldCatSearch more than 1.4 billion library items (not all items are available for interlibrary loan).
Search Strategies
Strategy to locate and access copies of articles
- Conduct a literature search in the recommended indexes (above)
- Many indexes include full-text articles in PDF, TXT, and HTML formats. Use the
icon to for links to other options - If you have a citation (Journal name, article title, year, volume number, etc) use the Full Text Journals List to locate content.
- Double check the GSU Library Catalog to locate journals in print
and microfilm formats, if not found in the Full Text Journals List.
Communication Disorders Libary Resources
Communications Disorders is an interdisciplinary field. To conduct a thorough search of the literature for Audiology and Speech/Language Pathology, several databases should be searched. Click on the
icon in the search results for possible full text availability of an article in other databases, or in the library’s print collection.
PSYCINFO – About PsycInfo (Ebsco) The American Psychological Association’s index to psychology and related disciplines literature.
ERIC - About ERIC (Ebsco) The US Department of Education’s clearinghouse for education related journal articles and research reports.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text - (Ebsco) About CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Tutorials:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Basic Searching (YouTube) (Powerpoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Advanced Searching (YouTube) (Powerpoint)
Using CINAHL Headings (YouTube) (Powerpoint)
PubMed/Medline - The most complete index for journal literature in medicine, published by the National Library of Medicine. Under the “limits” tab, select “Humans” and “English”. For more details on searching PubMed, see the Nursing LibGuide.
Academic Search Complete Published by EBSCO, ASC contains a wide variety of scholarly journals.
The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) full-text journal database includes: the American Journal of Audiology, the American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, the Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research, and Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools. 1936-up to 3 years ago. Current issues are contained in other library databases, such as Academic Search Premier, PsychJournals, Communication & Mass Media Complete. Search for the title of the journal you want to browse in the Journals list search window to find access options.
Communication & Mass Media Complete Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Dissertation and Theses Database Full Text (Proquest) – Definitive guide to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. Provides abstract and indexing. Coverage dates are 1861 – present.
Reference Sources - Scholarly
CQ Researcher (About CQ Researcher)
Credo Reference Unlimited (About CREDO Reference Library) online reference service featuring over 250 full-text reference titles with over 3 million entries from 57 highly-respected publishers integrated in a robust search engine with many unique interactive features.
For tests and assessment tools:
HAPI Health and Psychosocial Instruments (login with GSU barcode through CARLI)
ERIC (Select the publication type "Tests/Questionnaires")
CINAHL (see link above) Limit to Publication Types Available: Questionnaire/Scale, Research Instrument, Research Instrument Utilization, Research Instrument Validation. Check CINAHL Headings for other possibilities.
For Health Services Research (Economics, Quality, Cost, Appropriateness, Outcomes Assessment) Queries:
Pubmed/Medline – Select “special queries” under “Pubmed Services”, then “Health Services Research Queries”
For Health Policy, laws, and regulations:
– look under “legal” for state and federal law, case law, and regulations.
Updated 10/8/2011
Non-GSU Resources
Health Statistics Resources
-
Illinois Deaf & Hard of Hearing Commission Click on "Statistics" on the left menu.
Web Resources
- ASHA American Speech Language Hearing Association Association of College and Research Libraries
- Communication Sciences and Disorders: A List of Resources This is an excellent list of electronic resources which includes listservs, megasites, and other resources.
- National Rehabilitation Center for Independence Links to REHABDATA database, National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research... also http://www.naric.com/research/
- Illinois Department of Professional Regulation
- Illinois Speech Language Hearing Association
- Communication Sciences and Disorders: A List of Resources by Edward L. F. Gonzalez, Judith M. Kuster, and Laura Steinbach. Association of College and Research Libraries bibliography. This site includes important resources such as listservs, which are email discussion lists.
- Communication Disorders Web Resources Page from Mankato State University Library
From the National Library of Medicine's MedlinePLUS:
- Speech and Communication Disorders
- Hearing Disorders and Deafness
- National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders its searchable
- Directory of Organizations
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's National Guideline Clearinghouse
- MedlinePLUS
- A goldmine of good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date. MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 500 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
-
2/23/2011
Paul Blobaum |
Contact Info Please leave your name and email address if I do not respond to the AskPaul message. Or leave a phone number for me to reach you by phone. Reference Office, D2410 708-534-4139 (leave a message) pblobaum@govst.edu (pref Send Email |
Browse Main Stacks for CDIS
Try these LC headings and classification number areas for browsing Communication Disorders:
Communicative disorders
RC423-RC4288.8
Hearing disorders
RF290-310
Language disorders
RC423-RC428.5
Speech disorders
RC423-RC428.5
Cluttering
RC424.5
Articulation disorders
RC424.7
Aphasia
RC425-RC425.7
Stuttering
RC424
Voice disorders
RF510-RF540
5/9/2011


Loading...
