This is the "Request Instruction or Workshops" page of the "Library Instruction and Workshops" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Instruction and Workshops  

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: http://libguides.govst.edu/instruction Print Guide RSS Updates

Request Instruction or Workshops Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

REQUEST ON-CAMPUS LIBRARY INSTRUCTION OR WORKSHOPS

 

Please provide the following information to your Liaison Librarian or the Library Instruction Coordinator:

    • Your name, phone number, and email
    • Your GSU status (faculty, staff, student, other)
    • Purpose for the session (class instruction, assignment, research topic,
      databases or resources, academic application, etc.)
    • Additional information to help tailor instruction to your needs
    • A choice of dates and times for the session or workshop.  Please allow at least
      two weeks lead time for scheduling and preparation.
    • Number of students or attendees (customized sessions are for 3 or more attendees)
    • Preference for demonstration or hands-on instruction
    • Preference for session location (your classroom or the library)
 

EXAMPLES OF INSTRUCTION SESSIONS AND WORKSHOPS


Librarians will work with you to customize sessions.  Concepts and skills can be taught at an introductory level, more advanced level, or focused on a specific academic discipline. Check the Workshop Schedule to see what is being offered this semester.  
 

 

NAVIGATING THE ONLINE CATALOG
Using Keywords and search fields

Sorting a results list

Using limiters: format, topic, subject area, etc.
Interpreting a catalog record
Understanding Library of Congress call numbers

Using an advanced search
Requesting books from I-Share libraries
Renewing books

Finding course reserves 

 

 

FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES IN LIBRARY DATABASES
Understanding types of databases
Selecting databases for your topic or discipline
Using keywords, subject terms, thesauri
Using search fields

Broadening or narrowing your search (Boolean)

Using limiters: full text, peer reviewed, etc.
Using truncation

Interpreting a results list and article record

Selecting or marking articles
Emailing, saving, and citing articles
Finding and searching a specific journal
Using Google Scholar to locate full-text articles in GSU databases


ENDNOTE – GATHER, MANAGE, STORE, & CITE INFORMATION

How to access Endnote and create your account
Import references from library databases and catalogs
Retrieve and manage citations
Create bibliographies using various citation styles
Use the Cite While You Write plugin for Microsoft Word

 

 
Copyright © 2017 Governors State University | Privacy Policy
1 University Parkway, University Park, Illinois 60484-0975.
708.534.5000 library@govst.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip