Welcome
You may contact me at 708-534-4139, or pblobaum@govst.edu .
Or in my absence, please contact the Library Reference Desk for assistance. l-refere@govst.edu or 708-534-4111 .
Encyclopedias, and Reference Books
- Encyclopedia of Social Work See the Encyclopeda of Social Work Quick Start Guide tab on the home guide page for instructions on how to navigate the Encyclopedia.
- Encyclopedia of Chicago
- Credo Reference Unlimitedonline reference service featuring over 250 full-text reference titles with over 3 million entries from 57 highly-respected publishers integrated in a robust search engine with many unique interactive features.
- CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy
- Social Worker Desk Reference - Print - Library Reference ShelfCall Number: REF. HV40 .S6464 2009
Find Journal Articles in GSU Indexes and Databases
These are the best databases to locate articles in Social Work journals and related literature. These databases are also located on the Journals & Databases A-Z list.
Social Work Abstracts (NASW Index of Social Work Literature) - Description (limit of 5 simultaneous users).
SOCindex Sociology and related literature. Description.
Academic Search Complete Description (An academic interdisciplinary database)
ERIC (for school social work) Description (U.S. Dept. of Education Clearinghouse)
PsycInfo Published by the American Psychological Association, an interdisciplinary index of psychology, psychiatry, human development, rehabilitation, and social sciences journals.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text - (Ebsco) About CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Tutorials:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Basic Searching (YouTube) (Powerpoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Advanced Searching (YouTube) (Powerpoint)
Using CINAHL Headings (YouTube) (Powerpoint)
EBSCO To search the above database at the same time, click on "EBSCO" and select the following databases. Alternatively, the databases can be searched directly by clicking on the link below.
Proquest Social Science Module
Medline/PubMed - National Library of Medicine's Index to Biomedical Literature(Health care social work)
Web sites for Population and HHS Statistics
US Census www.census.gov
FedStates www.fedstats.gov
Illinois Department of Public Health http://www.idph.state.il.us/health/statshome.htm
US Bureau of Labor Statistics http://www.bls.gov/
5/14/2012 pb
Search Strategies
Strategy to locate and access copies of articles
- Conduct a literature search in the recommended indexes (above)
- Many indexes include full-text articles in PDF, TXT, and HTML formats. Use the
icon to for links to other options - If you have a citation (Journal name, article title, year, volume number, etc) use the Full Text Journals List to locate content.
- Double check the GSU Library Catalog to locate journals in print
and microfilm formats, if not found in the Full Text Journals List.
Paul Blobaum |
Contact Info Please leave your name and email address if I do not respond to the AskPaul message. Or leave a phone number for me to reach you by phone. Reference Office, D2410 708-534-4139 (leave a message) pblobaum@govst.edu (pref Send Email |
Browse the Main Stacks
Try these Library of Congress subject areas for browsing Social Work titles:
Social Work
HV40 – HV69
Social Work Education
HV11 +
HV7428
Social Work with Criminals
HV7428
The Family, Marriage, Women
HQ1 – HQ2044
Gays/Lesbians/
Bisexual/Transgendered
HQ71 – HQ77, HV1449
Alcoholism/Drug Abuse
HV5001 – HV5840
5/9/2011



Loading...
