Social Work Journals - Families, Gerontology, Health Care, Mental Health, Teaching and EducationInternational/Multicultural, Research, Substance Abuse, General, Students, PolicyTechnology, Gender and Sexuality, Suggestion box
This is the "Measurement Tools" page of the "Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work  

Last Updated: Aug 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.govst.edu/socialwork Print Guide RSS Updates

Measurement Tools Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a Health Instrument?

Measurement instruments are defined by the Health and Psychosocial Instruments Database (HaPI) as questionnaires, psychological tests, health status indicators, genetic tests, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, inventories, rating scales, projective techniques, and vignettes/scenarios.

Resources

GSU Library Test Collection

The library's psychosocial and educational test collection is cataloged in the library catalog, Voyager.  Please search for test name in Voyager.  Access to some tests is limited to designated students in specific courses. 

The library also has a collection of tests and psychosocial instruments on Microfiche.  Please contact the Reference Desk for more information (lrefere@govst.edu or 708-534-4111) .

Databases

  • CINAHL Plus Full Text
    In limits, under "Publication Type", narrow your search to Questionnaire/Scale or Research Instrument. Use the Ctrl key to select both. OR browse the CINAHL Heading "Research Instruments". Headings are available for instrument name, type, and also for instrument construction and scaling.
  • Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC)
    ERIC offers search options for terms such as measurement, questionnaire, pain measurement, surveys, and includes the option of searching by a specific test instrument.
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
    (Ovid- limit of 1 simultaneous user. Try later if unaccessable.) This database provides access to journal articles about specific tests, assessments, and measures in health sciences, psychology and education, and includes articles about unpublished tests and references to primary sources such as catalogs of test publishers.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook
    Also called "Buros". Provides access to descriptive information and critical reviews of educational, personality, aptitute, etc. tests. MMY online provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present. (GSU has earlier volumes in print format in the Reference collection).
  • National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
    The HSRR database was designed for health care researchers and health sciences librarians seeking data resources used in health services research, the behavioral and social sciences and public health.
  • National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC)
    NQMC, sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is a public repository for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO offers a search option for searching of Tests and Measures as a search filter. From the main page, select “TM” from the Select a Field drop down menu box.
  • PubMed
    PubMed offers search options for terms such as health surveys, data collection, and questionnaires, and includes the option of searching by a specific test instrument.
  • Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database
    This resource is intended to help clinicians and researchers find instruments used for screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders. Some instruments are in the public domain and can be freely downloaded from the web; others can only be obtained from the copyright holder.
  • Tests in Print
    (TIP)serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
  • Dissertation and Theses Database
    Assessment tools are often included in theses and dissertations as an appendix. You may need to contact the rights owner for permission to use.
 

Social Work Assessments


Cover Art
Social Workers' Desk Reference - Albert R. Roberts
ISBN: 9780195369373
Publication Date: 2008-11-21

Copyright © 2017 Governors State University | Privacy Policy
1 University Parkway, University Park, Illinois 60484-0975.
708.534.5000 library@govst.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip