This guide is a starting point for looking up research information. The resources are listed by degree of importance and ease of use.
Last Updated: Jan 26, 2017
[Edit mode is disabled for linked-box]
If you need to find articles on aTOPIC or SUBJECT, use one of our databases. Databases collect article references from many sources so you can search broadly.
If you have a reference and you want to FIND AN EXACT ARTICLE, use the A-to-Z journal list. Search for the journal title and follow the links to the full text.
- CARLI EBL eBook PDA Pilot Project
EBL provides ebooks to academic and research, government and corporate libraries
EBL is a radically innovative ebook library service whose features set it apart from its peers. It has hundreds of library customers around the globe, including some of the world's most prestigious academic and research institutions.
- E-Book Academic (EBSCO) - Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
Start at the GSU Library homepage.
Please take advantage of the library's many services! We are available to provide instruction, either in group or individual formats, on a variety of topics, such as: searching databases, finding resources in the library, critically appraising the literature, or using EndNote the bibliographic software.
Web of Science (WOS) WOS has the Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index and the Art and Humanities index. You can also access MEDLINE here. Please create a user Id and password from ONSITE giving close attention to the password as it requires a charater and an alphanumeric, and the system will kick you out after 3 attempts. You have to use your GSU student ID to login which will be your user ID. In the Science Citation Inedx look for Topic, and limit to Biotechnology & Microbiology.
- PubMed - Published by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides over 20 million to the world's biomedical literature from 1966 to the present, including Pre-1966 and pre-publication citations provided by publisher partners. Full Text articles can be accessed from freely accessible articles, or articles from journals that we have a subscription to, or proceed with "more options" to get articles on Inter Library Loan. One needs to be well versed in MESH (Medical Subject Headings) to be able to search in this database
- SciFinder - This is a database by the American Chemical Society. Please ceate an user ID and password for this database. The link here will take you to th eregistration page. Please follow directions carefully.
- BIOSIS Previews (Ovid) The most comprehensive coverage of nearly 5,500 life science journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews. Topics include agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, molecular genetics, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology. Our Access stops in 2013. Coverage for current years continues throug the Web Of Science above.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information
The ENZYME database is a repository of information relative to the nomenclature of enzymes
InterPro provides functional analysis of proteins by classifying them into families and predicting domains and important sites.
- WorldWide Protein Data Bank
The wwPDB's mission is to maintain a single PDB archive of macromolecular structural data that is freely and publicly available to the global community.
PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage. Links from PubChem's chemical structure records to other Entrez databases provide information on biological properties.
A free database of commercially-available compounds for virtual screening.
A comprehensive enzyme information system.
- Patents are an important literature source in Biotechnology. So is included here.
- United States Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO)
Search full text of US patents from 1976 to the present.
- National Institutes of Health, Office of Technology Transfer
The NIH Office of Technology Transfer evaluates, protects, markets, licenses, monitors, and manages the wide range of NIH and FDA discoveries, inventions, and other intellectual property as mandated by the Federal Technology Transfer Act and related legislation.
- Espacenet (EPO)
Worldwide patent database with over 70 million patent documents from 92 countries.
- World Intellectual Property Organization
The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the United Nations agency dedicated to the use of intellectual property (patents, copyright, trademarks, designs, etc.) as a means of stimulating innovation and creativity.