NEW! DR. CARLSON'S DONATION
During the Fall 2011 Semester, Dr. Jon Carlson generously gifted the library with a large collection of books and media. Visit the Dr. Jon Carlson Donation LibGuide for a bibliography of items now in the library.
LIBRARY RESOURCES - COUNSELING
The following databases are recommended for full text journal articles, peer reviewed journals, and citations & abstracts in Psychology & Counseling. All databases are listed alphabetically on the Journals & Databases A-Z list. Off-campus login for databases is now your myGSU Portal username and password.
If an article is not full text, click on the icon to check for possible full text availability in other databases, or in the library’s print collection.
TO FIND ARTICLES IN PSYCHOLOGY AND COUNSELING JOURNALS, FIRST TRY THESE DATABASES:
- PsycINFO (EBSCO)
This is the primary index to use when searching in the fields of psychology, counseling, and related fields, including marriage & family, social psychology, gender and ethnic studies, educational psychology, etc. PsycINFO is produced by the American Psychological Association and contains more than 2.3 million records for scholarly journal articles, books, chapters in books, dissertations and technical reports.
- ProQuest Psychology Journals
This database provides access to summaries and full text for journal articles in over 520 publications in psychology and mental health. It also includes full text of more than 4,000 dissertations, with coverage from 2000-2005.
TO BROADEN YOUR SEARCH FOR MORE ARTICLES AND RESEARCH IN COUNSELING, PSYCHOLOGY, AND RELATED DISCIPLINES, TRY THESE DATABASES:
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
PsycARTICLES is a subset of PsycINFO and provides full text articles from 59 journals, including 48 APA journals. If you search PsycINFO, you are automatically searching the content of PsycARTICLES at the same time.
- SocINDEX (EBSCO)
This is the primary index to use when searching in the fields of sociological research, and includes topics such as marriage & family, criminology, social psychology, ethnic & racial studies, and gender studies. It includes close to 2 million records for scholarly journal articles, books, chapters in books, and conference papers, and also includes 10,000 author profiles.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
The US Department of Education’s clearinghouse for journal articles and research reports, the Educational Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources, including educational psychology. This is particularly helpful when looking for research in a classroom setting.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
- Education Full Text (EBSCO)
- ProQuest Education Journals
- ProQuest Research Library
- Dissertations & Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
- Project MUSE
TO SEARCH MULTIPLE DATABASES, TRY A DATABASE VENDOR (AGGREGATOR):
Popular vendors (aggregators) include EBSCO and ProQuest. Starting a search in a vendor allows you to select and search several databases simultaneously. However, you may lose some of the features and functions you get when searching individual databases one at a time.
TO FIND ONE SPECIFIC JOURNAL, USE THE FULL TEXT JOURNALS LIST
The Full Text Journals List is a list of journals we subscribe to in databases or in our print collection. You can also access this list by using the Find a Journal by Title box on the library's homepage. Type title words of a journal in the search box to see if we subscribe to that journal. If the journal is in a database, you can browse through issues or search for articles within that one journal. Please note that not all publication dates may be available.
FIND BOOKS AND RESERVES
To find books at GSU Library or borrow books from other I-Share libraries, use the catalog search on the library's homepage. When requesting books be sent from other I-Share libraries, first create a personal account and use the 14-digit barcode on your GSU ID card as the "Borrower ID." Here is the Course Reserves link, which is also found on the library's homepage. You need a valid GSU ID card to check out books, videos, and reserves.
Always look for books first at GSU or another I-Share library. If the book is not available from these libraries, you can use the Interlibrary Loan Book Request Form.
Always look for journal articles first in the library's databases. If you find an article on the web, do not pay if there is a fee to download. Instead, retain the article citation and look in the Full Text Journals List to see if we have that journal in a database or in print. If the library does not subscribe to the journal you may use the Interlibrary Loan Journal Request Form.
FIND TESTS AND ASSESSMENT TOOLS
All of the database indexes listed above, particularly PsycINFO, are also searchable for articles, books, etc. about tests and assessment tools. Also refer to the website for the Educational Testing Service (ETS) and see the Web Resources - Psychology & Counseling page for additional sites.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)
The MMY (also referred to as Buros) offers descriptions of commercially published tests and full text reviews of published tests in the areas of psychology, counseling, education, business, and health.
- Tests in Print (EBSCO)
Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (OVID)
This database provides access to journal articles about specific tests and measures in health sciences, psychology and education. It includes articles about unpublished tests and references to catalogs of commercial test publishers.