This is the "Home" page of the "E-Books at the Governors State University Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A master guide to locating and accessing e-books at the GSU Library.
Last Updated: Oct 30, 2013 URL: http://libguides.govst.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is in this guide?

This e-book guide will help you navigate through the e-books available from the GSU Library and beyond. It is not a definitive list as more and more materials become available to you every day. Click the above tabs to find e-books in your area of study. Each page will feature materials that you can retrieve by searching our GSU Library Catalog, our database e-book collections or from the Internet. If you have any problems, please click onto Help!

 

Oxford Reference Online

NEW!!! Oxford Reference Online is a  "huge, authoritative resource contains the full text of 135 reference books from Oxford University Press. The collection covers reference works in all subject areas and includes sources such as the Oxford English Dictionary, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, maps and illustrations, and timelines."

 

Acknowledgement

We are indebted to Lynn DiMaggio, Senior Library Specialist, Governors State University Libray for creating this LibGuide as a project for her Master of Library Science program at the University of Alabama, Fall 2011. 

 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Electronic Books guide for Governors State University faculty, staff and students. Electronic books are full-text books that you can view or download through our databases or on the Internet. This guide will help you locate and access complete books from our e-collections or the Internet 24/7 from any computer!

We offer a solid collection of online reference books and e-books on wide variety of subjects. Best of all, you don't have to check them out,  carry them home or return them.

If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in using your GSU Portal credentials. For login help, please click GSU Portal tutorials.  If you have a question or any difficulties accessing these materials, please call the Reference Desk at 708-534-4111 for assistance.

If you would like to use our e-books but are not affiliated with GSU, please come in to access them at our campus library. The public is always welcome to use our resources at the GSU Library.

 

E-book introduction and tutorial

Watch this video for a quick start! Also, check out the downloadable guides on the Help! page.

 

Featured E-collections

ebrary

NEW!!!! ebrary Academic Complete is an "online book collection that spans all academic subject areas. It includes almost 75,000 full-text books, reports and other authoritative content from leading publishers." Downloads are available for multiple devices!

Credo logo

Credo Reference offers complete reference materials in a wide variety of subjects. Click the hyperlink above to take you to the database list, scroll down and click "Credo Reference Unlimited"  to access. Click the "Find a Book" tab and begin!

Springer logo

Springer Medical E-book Collection "contains more than 2,000 electronic books covering the medical fields of Imaging, Nuclear Medicine, Surgery, Health and Medical Informatics, Oncology, Pathology, Intensive Care Medicine and Orthopedic Surgery, Cardiology, Dermatology, Ophthalmology, Otorhinolaryngology and Urogynecology." -- database guide. Click the hyperlink above to take you to the database list, scroll down and click "Springer Medical E-book collection" to access.

Ebsco logo

EBSCO eBook Collection

No matter what you are studying, this e-book collection will offer you support materials. It truly has something for everyone. Click the hyperlink above to take you to the database list, scroll down and click "E-Books Collection" to access.

 

From the Internet

Here's a sample of places to find freely available e-books on the Internet.

Free Google eBooks provides huge selection of e-books in a vast variety of subjects. To access full-text free books, click the link Free Google eBooks. Put your topic, such as "Chemistry," in the search bars.  Under the search bars that are accented in blue, it offers the options of how to search. Click "Full view only." For the next line, which is "Content," click  "books." And, there you have it!

Hathi Trust Digital Repository "is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future." -- website. It offers a search that can be filtered to full-view.

Internet Archive's Text Archive offers a huge amount of free books, some in their original forms. Also, check out the rest of Internet Archive, which offers everything from music to old drive-in movie ads.

ipl2 provides librarian-approved links to hundreds of sites that offer e-books.

National Academies Press offers a more than 4,000 titles in medicine and the sciences available in PDF format for free downloading. Registration is required.  

Online Books Page "is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet." -- website.

Open Culture links to e-books in a a variety of subjects, everything from literary classics to calculus.

Project Gutenberg "offers over 36,000 free e-books to download to your PC, Kindle, Android, iOS or other portable device. Choose between ePub, Kindle, HTML and simple text formats." -- website

UC Press E-Books Collection includes 500 titles available to the public about art, science, history, music, religion and fiction.

Copyright © 2014 Governors State University | Privacy Policy
1 University Parkway, University Park, Illinois 60484-0975.
708.534.5000 library@govst.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip