Welcome
Contact me if I am online through the AskPaul widget please leave email addres and name), by email, or by appointment.
I will be away from GSU from May 18th through June 10th. Please contact the Library Reference Desk for assistance. l-refere@govst.edu or 708-534-4111 .
Search GSU
For the Library Journals list and access by subject, please click here.
Other Local Library Catalogs
- Millennium Web CatalogOnline Catalog for the Mellennium Library System (formally the Suburban Library System) (login required).
- Chicago Public LibraryA link to access your account and the materials of the Chicago Public Library System (login required).
Search Strategies
Strategy to locate and access copies of articles
- Conduct a literature search in the recommended indexes (above)
- Many indexes include full-text articles in PDF, TXT, and HTML formats. Use the
icon to for links to other options - If you have a citation (Journal name, article title, year, volume number, etc) use the Full Text Journals List to locate content.
- Double check the GSU Library Catalog to locate journals in print
and microfilm formats, if not found in the Full Text Journals List.
Health Administration Libary Resources
The following indexes and databases have been recommended for full text journal articles, articles in peer reviewed journals, citations & abstracts in Health Administration. To access these databases go to the Journals & Databases A-Z list or click on the links below. Click on the
icon in the search results for possible full text availability of an article in other databases, or in the library’s print collection.
For Health Administration, management, and long term care journal articles use these databases:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text - (Ebsco) About CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Tutorials:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Basic Searching (YouTube) (Powerpoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Advanced Searching (YouTube) (Powerpoint)
Using CINAHL Headings (YouTube) (Powerpoint)
Business Source Premier About Busines Source Premier
ABI/Inform Global About ABI Inform
Medline/PubMed The most complete index for biomedical clinical and research literature, published by the National Library of Medicine.
To limit to the Core Nursing Journal subset: Go to "Advanced Search". Under "Limit By Topics, Languages, Journals Groups" select English, Human, and then under Journal Subsets, select "Nursing".
PubMed Basics PDF handout PubMed Tutorials MyNCBI personal "my account" handout
Search Clinic: Building a PubMed Search Query (30 Minute webcast)
PubMed / MyNCBI handout (on using the My Account features)
National Library of Medicine Gateway http://gateway.nlm.nih.gov (meta search of all NLM databases)
JSTOR Useful for indexing coverage of health policy, health sciences, and health economics journals going back to the early 1900's, with some full text coverage of journals such as American Journal of Nursing. Keep in mind JSTOR is an archives; consult the "Find Journals" service to locate current issues.
Reference Sources - Scholarly
CQ Researcher (About CQ Researcher)
Credo Reference Unlimited (About CREDO Reference Library) online reference service featuring over 250 full-text reference titles with over 3 million entries from 57 highly-respected publishers integrated in a robust search engine with many unique interactive features.
National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf (National Library of Medicine) The Bookshelf is a searchable collection of online biomedical textbooks and other literature. In addition to some classic biology and medical textbooks and monographs, it also includes books and databases produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
For Health Services Research (Economics, Quality, Cost, Appropriateness, Outcomes Assessment) Queries:
Pubmed/Medline – Select “special queries” under “Pubmed Services”, then “Health Services Research Queries”
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)
A database of citations to research-in-progress funded by federal, state, private organization, and foundation grants and contracts, HSRProj builds upon a database developed in prototype by staff of the AcademyHealth (formerly the Academy for Health Services Research and Health Policy) and the Cecil Sheps Center at the University of North Carolina with funding from the Pew Charitable Trusts. It provides access to information about research in progress before results are available in published form.
HSRProj is available for direct searching at a new Web address: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/hsrproj. It is still available for cross file searching using the NLM Gateway.
- HSRProj Fact Sheet
- HSRProj
- NLM Gateway HSRProj resides under the Other Collections Category
HSTAT (Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts)
A free full-text electronic resource for health care decision making, HSTAT became available in 1994. Developed by NLM's Lister Hill Center, the system allows those interested in guidelines, technology assessments, and evidence-based medicine reports to search for and read them on the computer screens in their offices via the Internet or modem. It includes Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), formerly the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR), guideline and evidence documents and technology assessments, NIH Consensus Development Conference Statements and Technology Assessment Workshop Reports, the U.S. Task Force on Preventive Services' Guide to Clinical Preventive Services, HIV/AIDS Treatment Information Service (ATIS) approved guidelines, and Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Treatment Improvement Protocols and Prevention Enhancement Protocols, Office Of Disease Prevention And Health Promotion's (ODPHP) Put Prevention Into Practice, as well as links to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Prevention Guidelines Database.
For Health Policy, laws, and regulations:
Academic Lexis/Nexis – look under “legal” for state and federal law, case law, and regulations. Provides full text of the law, court decision, and regulations.
PAIS- Index to journal articles, books, government reports, and other public admistration and public policy documents
For Tracking the Healthcare Public Policy Process:
Library of Congress’s THOMAS http://thomas.loc.gov/
Illinois General Assembly http://www.ilga.gov/
For Tests/Measurements
HAPI Health and Psychosocial Instruments (login with GSU barcode through CARLI)
ERIC (Select the publication type "Tests/Questionnaires")
CINAHL (see link above) Limit to Publication Types Available: Questionnaire/Scale, Research Instrument, Research Instrument Utilization, Research Instrument Validation. Check CINAHL Headings for other possibilities.
updated 11/9/2010
Paul Blobaum |
Contact Info Please leave your name and email address if I do not respond to the AskPaul message. Or leave a phone number for me to reach you by phone. Reference Office, D2410 708-534-4139 (leave a message) pblobaum@govst.edu (pref Send Email |
Browse the Main Stacks
Browsing the Shelves – Health Administration
Hospices RA1000+
Ambulatory care RA974+
Hospitals RA960 – RA996
Health Care Law KF 3828-3829`
Long Term Care RA975.C64
Nursing Home Facilities RA997+\
Nursing home care RC954+
Nursing Home Administration RA999.a35
Nursing administration RT89+



Loading...
