Model United Nations
Governors State University’s Model United Nations Team
The team will meet in the College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s Conference Room, E2579 in preparation for the upcoming American Model United Nations Conference November 21 to November 24, 2015 in Chicago.
Thursday, September 24, 2015, 7:30 to 8:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 15, 2015, 7:30 to 8:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 22, 2015, 7:30 to 8:30 p.m
Thursday, October 29, 2015, 7:30 to 8:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 5, 2015, 7:30 to 8:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 12, 2015, 7:30 to 8:30 p.m.
The Model United Nations provides an exceptional opportunity to learn about:
- Different cultures / countries / subjects / positions
- Efficient research techniques
- Complex problems and solutions
- Coalition building and networking
- The art of compromise
- Public speaking (extemporaneous, prepared remarks, networking, etc.)
- Students from many different academic programs use their Model United Nations experience to enhance their portfolio for graduate school or to enhance a resume for future employment opportunities
For many students, Model United Nations programs provide an exceptional opportunity to broaden their field of vision, learn to apply both discipline-specific and transferable knowledge in exciting ways, explore their role in society and become more informed and engaged citizens.
Participation is open to all students registered for at least one credit hour and in good standing in Fall 2015.
For students interested in earning academic credit for related work, please see below.
POLS 4090-04: International Issues in Political Science (1 Credit Hour)
This hybrid course is designed to provide an introduction to the United Nations and the conduct of international diplomacy. Students will have an opportunity to examine current events from a variety of perspectives, learn about the application of international law, and enhance their presentation and research skills.
Additional discussions and written assignments (position paper, resolutions, research) online. Interested students may also be eligible to attend the 2015 American Model United Nations Conference representing Governors State University November 21 to 24, 2015 (encouraged, not required).
Please contact Luke Helm, Assessment/ Internship/ Outreach Coordinator, College of Arts and Sciences, firstname.lastname@example.org, voice: 708.534.4088
Online research materials
Library resources: Databases providing access to multiple journals
- Proquest Research Library
Contains numerous journals on Political Science and other disciplines.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Designed specifically for academic institutions, it is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database.
- CQ Researcher
Research and analysis of contemporary issues. Scholarly.
- Credo Reference Unlimited
A library of Reference eBooks from various publishers.
- Academic Lexis Nexis
Legal, and reference information. Legal research includes Legal News, and International Law. Reference information includes biographical information, Roper polls, CIA World Fact Book, and World Almanac.
An archive of older journals on political science and other topics. (Use the Journals Title List to locate current journal issues.)
- Project MUSE
Interdisciplinary collection of scholarly journals. Project MUSE has various journal collections, including politics and policy, history and sociology.
General background research into Jamaica
- CIA World Fact Book entry on Jamaica
- Encyclopedia Britannica on Jamaica
Directed research into the specific committee / general assembly topics and the specific country’s actual or likely positions
- Permanent Mission of Jamaica to the United Nations
- Issues at AMUN Chapter 4, General Assembly
- Research links suggested by the American Model United Nations conference:
Background research into relevant world and United Nations affairs
- Vision of Humanity
- Global Peace Index
This is the ninth edition of the Global Peace Index (GPI), which ranks the nations of the world according to their level of peacefulness. The index is composed of 23 qualitative and quantitative indicators from highly respected sources and ranks 162 independent states, covering 99.6 per cent of the world’s population. The index gauges global peace using three broad themes: the level of safety and security in society, the extent of domestic and international conflict and the degree of militarisation.
In addition to presenting the findings from the 2015 GPI and its eight-year trend analysis, this year’s report provides an updated methodology to account for the economic impact of violence on the global economy. The report also contains a new analysis on Positive Peace and describes its relationship to development and other significant and positive societal outcomes. A detailed thematic analysis of the three aforementioned domains of the GPI is also included.
- Amnesty International Report 2014/15: The State of the World's Human Rights
By Amnesty International, 25 February 2015, Index number: POL 10/0001/2015
The Amnesty International Report 2014/15 documents the state of human rights in 160 countries and territories during 2014. Some key events from 2013 are also reported. This report also celebrates those who stand up for human rights across the world, often in difficult and dangerous circumstances. It represents Amnesty International’s key concerns throughout the world, and is essential reading for policymakers, activists and anyone with an interest in human rights.
- Worldwide Threat Assessment of the US Intelligence Community
Source: U.S. Senate Committee on Armed Services
Cyber threats to US national and economic security are increasing in frequency, scale, sophistication and severity of impact. The ranges of cyber threat actors, methods of attach, targeted systems, and victims are also expanding. Overall, the unclassified information and communication technology (ICT) networks that support US government, military, commercial, and social activities remain vulnerable to espionage and/or disruption. However the likelihood of a catastrophic attack from any particular actor is remote at this time. Rather than a "Cyber Armageddon" scenario that debilitates the entire US infrastructure, we envision something different. We foresee an ongoing series of low-to-moderate-level cyber attacks from a variety of sources over time, which will impose cumulative costs on US economic competitiveness and national security.
- World Report 2015
Source: Human Rights Watch
From the foreword:
World Report 2015 is Human Rights Watch’s 25th annual review of human rights practices around the globe. It summarizes key human rights issues in more than 90 countries and territories worldwide, drawing on events from the end of 2013 through November 2014.
The book is divided into two main parts: an essay section, and country-specific chapters.
Individual country entries, each of which identifies significant human rights issues, examines the freedom of local human rights
defenders to conduct their work, and surveys the response of key international actors, such as the UN, the European Union, the US, and various regional and international organizations and institutions.
- World Statistics Pocketbook 2014 edition
Source: United Nations Statistics Division
From the Introduction:
The World Statistics Pocketbook is an annual compilation of key economic, social and environmental indicators, presented in one-page profiles. This edition includes country profiles for 217 countries or areas of the world....
This issue of the World Statistics Pocketbook covers various years from 2005 to 2014. For the economic indicators, in general, three years - 2005, 2010 and 2012 - are shown, unless otherwise indicated. Due to space limitations, data for one year only are shown for the indicators in the social and environmental categories. For the six social indicators for which the range of years 2010-2015 is shown, the data refer to projections. When other ranges of years are shown, the data refer to the most recent year available within that range.
- The Global Gender Gap Report 2014
Source: World Economic Forum
From The Global Gender Gap Index 2014:
The Global Gender Gap Index was first introduced by the World Economic Forum in 2006 as a framework for capturing the magnitude of gender-based disparities and tracking their progress. This year is the 9th edition of the Index, allowing for time-series analysis on the changing patterns of gender equality around the world and comparisons between and within countries.
The Index benchmarks national gender gaps on economic, political, education and health criteria, and provides country rankings that allow for effective comparisons across regions and income groups. The rankings are designed to create greater awareness among a global audience of the challenges posed by gender gaps and the opportunities created by reducing them. The methodology and quantitative analysis behind the rankings are intended to serve as a basis for designing effective measures for reducing gender gaps....
There are three basic concepts underlying the Global Gender Gap Index, forming the basis of the choice of indicators, how the data is treated and the scale used. First, it focuses on measuring gaps rather than levels. Second, it captures gaps in outcome variables rather than gaps in input variables. Third, it ranks countries according to gender equality rather than women’s empowerment.