Worldwide Newspapers
Academic Lexis Nexis provides access to over 2,000 worldwide newspapers. Papers such as Anchorage Daily News, Atlanta Journal and Constitution, Bangkok Post, Boston Herald, Cape Times (South Africa), Toronto Star, plus many others can be found here.
If you wish to browse the publications, select "Sources" under "General Searching." Click on "Browse Sources" and select the Publication Type "News." Next, select the "Publication Type" "Newspapers." You are also able to filter by Country.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Obituaries
GSU Owned Newspapers
Chicago Sun-Times
- Current issues are received on paper. The library keeps the current 3 months only. The paper is published Monday through Sunday.
- Online access is available through Academic LexisNexis.
Chicago Tribune
- Current issues are received on paper. The library keeps the current 3 months only. The paper is published Monday through Sunday.
- The library has April 23, 1849 through 2010 available on microfilm.
- Online access is available through ProQuest.
Crain's Chicago Business
- Current issues are received on paper. The paper is published once a week.
- The library has 1980 through 2006 available on microfilm.
- Online access is available through Academic LexisNexis.
Southtown Star
- Current issues are received on paper. The library keeps the current 6 months only. The paper is published Monday through Sunday.
- You can search the Southtownstar on their website.
Wall Street Journal
- Current issues are received on paper. The library keeps the current 1 monthly only. The paper is published Monday through Saturday/Sunday.
- The library has 1958 through 2010 available on microfilm.
- Online access is available through ABI/Inform Global.
The most recent editions of these papers are located on the newspaper carousel in the Documents/Serials area. Earlier editions are located at the end of the Index Area shelving in the Documents/Serials area. Newspapers earlier than those on the shelving are located in the Serials Department in the Technical Services area. Please ask for assistance in retrieving those issues.
Several of these newspapers have indexes to them.
Newspapers on Microfilm
Several other, older versions of newspapers are held on microfilm in the microform reader/printer area of the Documents/Serials area. Some of these titles may currently be received, please check the online catalog for more information.
These titles include:
|
Barron’s National Business and Financial Weekly |
1960-2004 |
|
Chicago Daily News |
1971-1974 |
|
Chicago Defender Big Weekend Edition |
1968-1974 |
|
Chicago Defender City Edition |
1909-1967 |
|
Chicago Defender Daily Edition |
1968-1974 |
|
Chicago Defender National Edition |
1925-1967 |
|
Chicago Sun-Times |
1971-1974 |
|
Chicago Today |
1971-September 13, 1974 |
|
Christian Science Monitor |
1908–2010 |
|
Clipper (New York) |
May 7, 1853-July 11, 1923 |
|
Era (London) |
1851-September 21, 1939 |
|
Irish American Weekly (New York) |
August 12,1849-February 1915 |
|
New York Times |
September 1851-2010 |
|
Park Forest Star |
1961-1974 |
|
Times (London) |
1900-1976 |
|
Times (London) Educational Supplement |
1960-1976 |
|
Times (London) Literary Supplement |
1960-1976 |
|
Variety |
1905-1972 |
Lydia Morrow Ruetten |



Loading...
