Last Updated: Aug 2, 2017
- Academic Earth
Academic Earth aims to provide everyone with the opportunity to earn a world-class education by offering free online classes and online learning tools. Whether you’re looking to advance your career or take classes that interest you, Academic Earth can connect you to the world’s top universities and scholars. Includes tutorials, test preps, and lectures/courses. Free.
- Annenberg Learner
Annenberg Learner uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. This mandate is carried out chiefly by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers. It is part of The Annenberg Foundation and advances the Foundation's goal of encouraging the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.
Annenberg Learner's multimedia resources help teachers increase their expertise in their fields and assist them in improving their teaching methods. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home. All Annenberg Learner videos exemplify excellent teaching.
- Awesome Stories
**Registration Required** DocuFest incorporates the MBC Archives into classrooms by providing online access to select documentaries and matching lesson plans. Our collection of radio and television documentaries features primary source material such as interviews, historical news footage, and dramatic reenactments that will help bring historical events to life. Here, you will find standards-based lesson plans for Grades 9-12 and a selection of streamed documentaries that complement core curricular areas such as the Civil Rights Movement, World War II, Vietnam War, and the Performing Arts.
EduTube is an educational video search platform. The aim is to organize the best free online educational videos, and make them easy for you to find, watch and download.
The George Lucas Educational Foundation is dedicated to improving the K-12 learning process by documenting, disseminating, and advocating innovative, replicable, and evidence-based strategies that prepare students to thrive in their future education, careers, and adult lives
"FORA.tv is the leading online destination for intelligent video programs on the people, issues, and ideas changing the world. FORA.tv offers live video viewing of events, lectures, and debates. Gathered at FORA.tv is the web's largest collection of unmediated video drawn from top conferences, universities, and public forums."
**Registration required** The goal of HippoCampus is to provide high-quality, multimedia content on general education subjects to high school and college students free of charge
**Registration required** For mobile devices.
- MIC Moving Image Collections - Library of Congress
MIC documents moving image collections around the world through a catalog of titles and directory of repositories. MIC provides a technology base and informational resources to support research, collaboration, preservation, and education for archivists, exhibitors, educators, and the general public.
- My Learning Tube
3/7/13 not available
TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design.
Since then its scope has become ever broader. Along with two annual conferences -- the TED Conference in Long Beach and Palm Springs each spring, and the TEDGlobal conference in Edinburgh UK each summer -- TED includes the award-winning TEDTalks video site, the Open Translation Project and TED Conversations, the inspiring TED Fellows and TEDx programs, and the annual TED Prize
Our goal is to provide an online community for sharing instructional videos. We seek to fill a need for a more educationally focused, safe venue for teachers, schools, and home learners. It is a site to provide anytime, anywhere professional development with teachers teaching teachers. As well, it is a site where teachers can post videos designed for students to view in order to learn a concept or skill.
- YouTube Education
Get more into learning
YouTube EDU brings learners and educators together in a global video classroom. On YouTube EDU, you have access to a broad set of educational videos that range from academic lectures to inspirational speeches and everything in between.
Come here for quick lessons from top teachers around the world, course lectures from top-tier universities, or inspiring videos to spark your imagination.
Academic Earth offers free access to video courses and academic lectures from leading colleges and universities.
Annenberg Learner programs are intended for use by teachers, but are also useful for student learning. Browse their resources by subject and grade level. You can view their programs online with a broadband connection whenever you see the "VoD" icon.
BEN Bioscience Ed Net
Welcome to the BEN portal, the National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Pathway for biological sciences education. The BEN Portal provides access to education resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Over 18,827 reviewed resources covering 77 biological sciences topics are available. BEN resources can help you engage student interest, shorten lesson preparation time, provide concept updates, and develop curricula that are in line with national standards for content, use of animals and humans, and student safety.
Large lecture library on a wide range of academic topics.
Documentary Heaven was set up early July 2009 to provide the public with a vast collection of documentaries spanning across every genre out there. They intend on continuously updating the site on a daily basis to bring you nothing but the very best.
Visitors are able to choose different subject matter from the content menu. There are twenty-two categories in which the documentaries are divided. These include such interesting subjects such as art, health, science, travel, history, and several others. Each documentary in the menu includes a cover picture as well as a brief blurb that describes the movie’s content. Again, they are all full-length features to enjoy; not just little excerpts. There is also a search field where users can type in a subject or the name of a documentary to see if it is available on the website.
Gresham College Public Lectures
Gresham College has provided free public talks within the City of London for over 400 years. Now available in video, these are sorted by category.
With a library of over 3,000 videos covering everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history and 315 practice exercises, try these to help you learn what you want, when you want, at your own pace.
This site provides free video and audio lectures of whole courses conducted by faculty from reputed universities around the world. This is a comprehensive site providing thousands of downloadable Video lectures, Live Online Tests,etc in the fields of Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Computer Science, Engineering, Medicine, Management and Accounting, Dentistry, Nursing, Psychology, History, Language Training, Literature, Law, Economics, Philosophy,Astronomy, Political Science etc FREE to its visitors.
MIT World is a free and open site that provides on demand video of significant public events at MIT. MIT World's video index contains more than 800 videos. Browse the videos.
Media That Matters Film Festival
Annual collection showcasing twelve short films on important topics of the day. Seven years of films available on the site, organized alphabetically by title, by year. A simple search interface facilitates finding films by keyword. Films may also be browsed by one of 15 issues: Criminal Justice, Economic Justice, Environment, Family & Society, Gay/Lesbian, Gender/Women, Health/Health Advocacy, Human Rights, Immigration, International, Media, Politics/Government, Racial Justice, Religous Freedom, and Youth.
National Film Board of Canada
Over 1,700 films produced by the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) can be streamed via the site. The NFB has been breaking ground in socially engaged documentary, auteur animation and alternative drama for over 70 years.
National Geographic Video
Contains nearly 300 videos and video clips from National Geographic about the environment, music, science, travel, and culture.
Open Vault provides unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH.
Provides access to selected programs from selected PBS series (such as Nature, American Experience, Nova, and Frontline, among others.)
Point of View Documentaries
Provides a selection of full length films, short films, and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed PBS documentary film series POV.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started in 1984 as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Browse by topic, date, popularity and more to view videos. Anyone can browse TED Conversations, but to start or join a conversation, you'll need a free TED.com member account. Also check out the TED YouTube Channel.
- Webcast Berkeley
Since 2001, webcast.berkeley has provided the world with a window into the UC Berkeley classroom and campus events experience via online video and audio. From UC Berkeley students to life-long learners around the globe, millions of viewers have tuned-in to view the over 16,000 hours of content available on webcast.berkeley.
Internet Movie Database
Provides access to full-length films and television episodes, many in the public domain. The alphabetic listing of titles links to the IMDB page that describes the film and provides a link to stream the video. The link may redirect or pull the stream from another site such as the Internet Archive, SnagFilms, or Hulu.
Browse the entire American Experience series featuring over 250 films. Watch full films online, download teacher’s guides, go behind the scenes, and learn more about your favorite films.
American History in Video
A subscription database that provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 5,858 titles, equaling approximately 1517 hours.
Features a growing collection of text, audio, and video versions of over 5,000 speeches. The site provides access to "public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events." Not all speeches have accompanying videos. Site supported by advertising, and maintained by a speech communication professor.
Civil Rights Digital Library
The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
PBS's FRONTLINE series provides documentaries committed to reporting the tough, controversial, and complex stories that shape our times. Check out the new classroom activities with streaming video, downloadable lesson plans and web-exclusive resources to accompany FRONTLINE programs in the classroom.
From the History Channel, watch video clips, browse photos, and listen to audio clips from programs Topics include state history, history by time period, U.S. Presidents, and a variety of people, places, and events.
JUSTICE is the first Harvard course to be made freely available online and on public television. These lectures relate to the big questions of political philosophy to the most vexing issues of our time: bank bailouts, equality and inequality, taxes, immigration, affirmative action, the role of markets, national service, same-sex marriage, the place of religion in politics, and the ethical questions we confront in our everyday lives.
Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive
Scripps Library at the University of Virginia focuses on US Public Policy. the streaming video collection contains State of the Union addresses from Kennedy to Obama. The multimedia archive also includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, and documents related to the executive branch of American government.
U.S. National Archives
Includes historical video clips from the National Archives such as NASA history, United Newsreel motion pictures, and Department of the Interior motion pictures.
- CSpan Video
Archive of public affairs programming from C-Span. TOPICS include American History TV,Book TV, Business & Commerce, Campaigns & Elections, Communication Today, Courts & Judicial Process, Education Issues, Foreign Affairs & Defense, Health & Welfare, History & Society,Minorities & Equal Opportunity, Science & Technology, State Politics,Washington Politics.
- American Memory from Library of Congress
- BBC Video Archives
Meta search engine for video.
- Britain's National Film Archive
- Prelinger Film Archive
The prelinger archives is a collection of "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. The Internet Archives aims to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions."
- USC Moving Image Archives