Health Care Reform 2010Writing HelpsPT Orientation
This is the "Home" page of the "Physical Therapy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physical Therapy  

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2017 URL: http://libguides.govst.edu/physitherapy Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic Books

 
  • CARLI EBL eBook PDA Pilot Project
    EBL provides ebooks to academic and research, government and corporate libraries
    EBL is a radically innovative ebook library service whose features set it apart from its peers. It has hundreds of library customers around the globe, including some of the world's most prestigious academic and research institutions.   
  • E-Book Academic (EBSCO)     - Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.      
  • ebrary Academic Complete
    Online book collection that spans all academic subject areas. It includes almost 75,000 full-text books, reports and other authoritative content from leading publishers.
     
    Updated by SW 9/25/2014

Search GSU

 
For the Library Journals list and access by subject, please click here.

 Other Local Library Catalogs

  • Chicago Public Library
    A link to access your account and the materials of the Chicago Public Library System (login required).
  • SWAN Online Catalog
    Local online catalog for the RAILS Library System, which includes public libraries that serve the Chicago suburbs.
  • WorldCat
    Search more than 1.4 billion library items (not all items are available for interlibrary loan).

Visible Human Anatomy

  • Visible Human
    s a suite of online programs that cover anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes and more. Plus each program is also offered for iPad® and/or Android®* to support users who need offline and offsite access to meet their busy schedules, study habits and device preferences.

Indexes and Journals Databases

1/31/2017

  • PubMed
    Published by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides over 20 million to the world's biomedical literature from 1966 to the present, including Pre-1966 and pre-publication citations provided by publisher partners. Full Text articles can be accessed from freely accessible articles, and through the GSU Outside Tool. Please change results display to "Abstract" to view the GSU links to GSU holdings, and to an Interlibrary Loan request form.
  • CINAHL Complete
    CINAHL® Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,350 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL® index, with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL® Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
    CINAHL® Complete also provides indexing for more than 5,200 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 4.1 million records dating back to 1937.
  • Cochrane Collection Plus
    combines the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) and Health Technology Assessments (HTA) with the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Methodology Register. All databases in Cochrane Collection Plus are published by Wiley & Sons, Ltd.
  • Web of Knowledge/Web of Science 1900-present
    Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities from 1900-present. Web of Science package includes the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, the Data Citation Index, book citation indexes, MEDLINE from the National Library of Medicine, and ENDNOTE Online, the Thomson Reuters bibliographic management platform. “Please Register for a User Id password from the opening screen of the link for WOS in Databases A-Z. On the top right hand corner click on “Sign In”, click on “Register” and follow screen prompts.
  • OT Search
    Library catalog of AOTA's Wilma West Library. To search for Journal articles, click on OT Search, then Power Search, then select "Journal Article" next to "type". Journals holdings are not specific to GSU, please use Journals List to locate GSU availability.
  • PEDro
    PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 35,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).
  • OT Seeker
    OTseeker is a selective index of abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other evidence-based resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.
  • PsycINFO
    (EBSCO) PsycINFO contains more than 1.8 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in the the multidisciplinary field of behaviorial science and mental health. (PsycInfo links to full text articles in PsycArticles and other EBSCO databases)
  • ERIC  
      
    (EBSCO) - Indexes education journal articles and non-journal documents. Links to full text articles in EBSCO databases and documents at the ERIC website.
 

GSU Library Resources

  • Interlibrary Loan     Request items not available in the University Libraries or that are in off-site storage. This url will then ask you for your GSU ID and password.
  • To access journal articles, please check the GSU Library journals list, and then  click on the GSU icon. If GSU owns it a page will open giving all possible ways to get the full text as pdf or html. If we do not own the Journal Clicking on GSU icon will open up a MORE OPTIONS tab, that will take you to a form with the citation filled in, where you will fill out all your student information.
  • EndNote  Software designed to manage bibliographies and references. Creates in-text citations and formats references in hundreds of different citation styles. Available to all GSU users. Follow instructions to Register in this database
1/31/17
 

Other Databases (open access, non-GSU)

1/31/17

  • AbleData
    AbleData is the premier source for impartial, comprehensive information on products, solutions and resources to improve productivity and ease with life’s tasks. We provide a wealth of information to assist domestic and international customers and their family members, vendors, distributors, organizations, professionals and caregivers in understanding assistive technology (AT) options and programs available. AbleData is funded by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR). NIDILRR is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Administration for Community Living. AbleData does not sell products and we do not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.
  • Combined Health Information Databases - CHID
    This on-line database lists a wealth of health promotion and education materials and program descriptions from all health-related agencies of the U.S. government, including the National Institutes of Health and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It covers several disability topics including deafness and communication disorders, diabetes, eating disabilities and Alzheimer's disease.
  • NARIC
    The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR). We collect, catalog, and disseminate the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by NIDILRR. NIDILRR funds more than 250 projects each year that conduct research on a wide range of issues including technology, health and function, independent living, and capacity building. National Rehabilitation Center for Independence Each year, the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR) funds more than 300 disability and rehabilitation research projects. These projects run the gamut from small companies developing innovative products, to large universities conducting long-term, clinical research. NARIC gathers information from and about these projects in two important resources: the NIDRR Program Directory and its companion Compendium
  • REHABData
    REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present. REHABDATA results may also include abstracts from the international research collection, originally developed by CIRRIE. More than 120,000 documents are abstracted in this database. NARIC adds approximately 4,000 items to REHABDATA each year, including 1,000 international research documents.
Copyright © 2014 Governors State University | Privacy Policy
1 University Parkway, University Park, Illinois 60484-0975.
708.534.5000 library@govst.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip