Home
[Edit mode is disabled for linked-box]
You may contact me at 708-534-4137, or swagh@govst.edu .
Or in my absence, please contact the Library Reference Desk for assistance. l-refere@govst.edu or 708-534-4111 .
GSU Indexes and Databases
BEFORE YOU BEGIN: PLEASE WATCH THIS SHORT VIDEO
http://screencast.com/t/agRDJu4YJgTr
Journal Indexes & Databases for Physical Therapy
CINAHL Plus with Full Text - (Ebsco) About CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Tutorials:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Basic Searching (YouTube) (Powerpoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Advanced Searching (YouTube) (Powerpoint)
Using CINAHL Headings (YouTube) (Powerpoint)
- The most complete for biomedical clinical and research literature, with over 20 million citations and pre-publication and historical records.
PubMed Tutorials http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmedtutorial/
Biosis Previews combines the content of both Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings), thus providing comprehensive coverage of nearly 5,500 life science journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews. Topics include agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, molecular genetics, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology.
National Library of Medicine Gateway
http://gateway.nlm.nih.gov (meta search of all NLM databases)
Evidence-based practice and clinical searches:
PEDro
is a Physiotherapy Evidence-Based Medicine database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not. The database is available for free at http://www.pedro.org.au/. The database is developed at the University of Sydney, Australia.
Review of PEDro by Paul Blobaum in the J Medical Library Association 2006 http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1629414/
PubMed
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?otool=govstlib Click on “Topic Specific Queries” See MEDLINE below too.
SCIFINDER
- SciFinder (First Time User)(Off-CAMPUS Access is currenlty unavailable) All accounts must be created on campus
- SciFinder (Returning User)
- SciFinder provides access to the CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases covering the chemical literature, chemical substances and reactions, chemical catalogs and regulatory information, as well as the Medline database. Each user must register for a personal SciFinder account before searching. It’s advisable to check the instructions on the SciFinder website before registering and choosing a username and password. You must use a computer connected to the GSU network and enter your GSU email address when registering. Searching SciFinder web requires that Java, JavaScript, and cookies be enabled on the computer. This databse will be especially useful when you are introduced to pharmaceuticals in your course.
ProQuestIs another databse to look for for information in a wide variety of fields. It helps to look here when the subjects overlap like with psychology or Social work.
Strategy to locate and access copies of articles:
- Conduct a literature search in the recommended indexes (above)
- Many indexes include full-text articles in PDF, TXT, and HTML formats. Use the
icon to for links to other options - If you have a citation (Journal name, article title, year, volume number, etc) use the Full Text Journals List to locate content.
- Double check the GSU Library Catalog to locate journals in print and microfilm formats, if not found in the Full Text Journals List.
5/11/2012
Non GSU Resources
Databases
The ABLEDATA database contains information on more than 29,000 assistive technology products (over 19,000 of which are currently available), from white canes to voice output programs. The database contains detailed descriptions of each product including price and company information. The database also contains information on non-commercial prototypes, customized and one-of-a-kind products, and do-it-yourself designs. To select devices most appropriate to your needs, we suggest combining ABLEDATA information with professional advice, product evaluations, and hands-on product trials.
CHID Combined Health Information Database CHID is a bibliographic database produced by health-related agencies of the Federal Government. This database provides titles, abstracts, and availability information for health information and health education resources. CHID lists a wealth of health promotion and education materials and program descriptions that are not indexed elsewhere. New records are added quarterly and current listings are checked regularly to help ensure that entries are up to date and still available from their original sources. Some older records are retained for archival purposes.
Statistics
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Statistics Page
- National Center for Health Statistics (also CDC)
- Illinois Department of Public Health Statistics
Rehabilitation Resources
NARIC National Rehabilitation Center for Independence Each year, the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR) funds more than 300 disability and rehabilitation research projects. These projects run the gamut from small companies developing innovative products, to large universities conducting long-term, clinical research. NARIC gathers information from and about these projects in two important resources: the NIDRR Program Directory and its companion Compendium of Products by NIDRR Grantees and Contractors. Both volumes are available in searchable databases here on the NARIC website.
NARIC's databases are available to search from one, easy-to-use form (above). Or choose to search one of the databases using the advanced search screens: REHABDATA (1997-present) or (1956-1996), the NIDRR Program Directory, its companion Compendium of Products, or the comprehensive Knowledgebase of Disability and Rehabilitation Resources.
National Rehabilitation Center for Independence Links to REHABDATA database, National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research
University of Buffalo Health Sciences Wiki - Rehabilitation: selected resources An excellent list of web links, no sense in reduplicating someone else's efforts here!
Associations
- American Physical Therapy Association
- Illinois Department of Professional Regulation
- Illinois Physical Therapy Association
- American Occupational Therapy Association
- Illinois Occupational Therapy Association
National Library of Medicine - Patient Education and Consumer Health
MedlinePLUS A goldmine of good consumer health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date. MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 500diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Search GSU
For the Library Journals list and access by subject, please click here.
Other Local Library Catalogs
- Chicago Public LibraryA link to access your account and the materials of the Chicago Public Library System (login required).
- SWAN Online CatalogLocal online catalog for the RAILS Library System, which includes public libraries that serve the Chicago suburbs.
- WorldCatSearch more than 1.4 billion library items (not all items are available for interlibrary loan).
E-books
Need authoritative information? Your library offers e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools with Academic Complete™!

Loading...
