Web Resources - Psychology & Counseling
Psychology and Counseling Super Sites
-
Behavioral HealthCare Meetings, Organizations and Resources
"This free service features meetings, organizations and general resources in behavioral healthcare." -
DMOZ Open Directory Project
Experts at the Open Directory Project attempt to organize the web by subject area. -
Educational Psychology Topics
Lots of links to Perspectives on Teaching, Development of Students, Diversity in School and Classrooms, Learning Theories and Practices, Assessment, etc. -
Encyclopedia of Psychology
This site provides links to information about careers, organizations, theories, publications, resources, people, history and more. -
Mental Help Net
Award-winning guide to mental health, psychology & psychiatry, with many links for educational psychologists and school psychologists. -
Other Counseling Resources on the Internet
This site provides many links to useful resources in counseling & mental health. -
Psych Web Resources
Links to many sites with psychology-related information for students & teachers. -
Psychology Online Resource Central Provides links to online resources for psychology students & teachers.
-
School Psychology Resources Online
Many useful links for school psychologists and students.
Associations and Organizations
Certification
Ethics and Professional Standards
(See also Ethics or Standards under additional Associations listed above)
-
ACA Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice
From the American Counseling Association. -
APA Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct
From the American Psychological Association. -
ASCA Ethical Standards for School Counselors
From the American School Counselor Association -
ASGW Group Work Best Practice Guideline
From the Association for Specialists in Group Work -
IAMFC Ethical Code
From the International Association of Marriage Family Counselors -
NASP Professional Conduct Manual From the National Association of School Psychologists. Click on "Professional Conduct Manual".
-
NBCC Code of Ethics
From the National Board for Certified Counselors -
NCME Code of Professional Responsibilities in Educational Measurement
From the National Council on Measurement in Education
History of Psychology
-
Centre for Psychology Resources: History of Psychology
From , this site provides many links to websites covering the history of psychology and information about influential people in psychology. -
Classics in the History of Psychology
A mega-site produced by David Green of that provides information and links to the classics in the history of psychology. -
Discovering Psychology: History of Psychology
This site allows you to explore some of the key events, publications and perspectives that have shaped psychology from the late 19th century to the present. Available through Annenberg/CPB. -
History of Influences in the Development of Intelligence Theory & Testing
This site provides a flow chart of major figures in the development of intelligence theory and intelligence testing.
Internet Counseling, Online Counseling, and E-Therapy
-
ABC's of Internet Therapy
What is e-therapy & What do you need to know -
NBCC Practice of Internet Counseling
A hot topic from the National Board of Certified Counselors & the Center for Credentialing and Education
School Psychology and School Counseling
-
American School Counselor Association (ASCA)
APA Division of School Psychology
Division 16 - School Psychology -
ED/Office for Civil Rights (OCR)
"The mission of the OCR is to ensure equal access to education
and to promote educational excellence throughout the nation
throught vigorous enforcement of civil rights." -
ED/Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS)
“OSERS supports programs that assist in education children
with special needs, provides for the rehabilitation of youth &
adults with disabilities, and supports research to improve the
lives of individuals with disabilities.” -
ED/OSERS: Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP)
A component of OSERS, “OSEP’s mission and organization
focus on the free appropriate public education (FAPE) of children
& youth with disabilities.” -
IDEA 2004 Resources
News and information on the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004 (IDEA), the nation's law that works to improve results for infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities. -
School Psychology Resources Online
School psychology bookstore, in asociation with Amazon.com. -
School Psychology Quarterly
View the Table of Contents for issues of this quarterly journal. -
School Psychology Resources Online
Links for psychologists, parents and educators.
More Web Resources - Psychology & Counseling
Tests and Testing
-
Association of Test Publishers
Provides much useful information on psychological &
educational tests, although some information is available
only to members or subscribers. -
Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
Publishers of the Mental Measurements Yearbook and
Tests in Print, this site also provides links to the Test
Review Locator, the ETS Test Locator, and full text articles
on tests and testing. -
Code of Fair Testing Practices in Education
Prepared by the Joint Committee on Testing Practices,
this code states the major obligations to test takers
of professionals who develop or use educational tests. -
ETS-Educational Testing Service Network
The world’s largest private educational testing and
measurement organization, a nonprofit company that
develops and administers more than 11 million tests worldwide. -
Finding Information About Psychology....Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
The APA Science Directorate answers questions on how to
find information about psychological tests. -
Finding Psychological Tests and Related Information
Excellent overview about how to find tests and information about tests from the Valley Library's Paula McMillen at Oregon State University. -
Links and Other Testing-Related Sites
The APA Science Directorate's page providing additional
links to sites related to testing. -
National Council on Measurement in Education
NCME’s purpose is to “advance the science of measurement,” “improve measurement instruments and procedures for their administration, scoring, interpretation and use, and improve applications of measurement in assessment of individuals and evaluations of educational programs.” -
Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing
Table of contents & ordering information for the APA Standards. -
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
A comprehensive list of tests in the social sciences that are available in compiled volumes. This includes a complete listing of all the unpublished tests included in the Tests in Microfiche collections. From Helen Hough, Health Sciences Librarian at the University of Texas Arlington.
Style Manuals and Writing Guides
-
APA Style
The American Psychological Association site that discusses The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. -
APA Style Essentials
Basic guidelines for APA style papers and references from Vanguard University. -
GSU Writing Center - Documentation Styles
Links to APA writing sites provided by The Writing Center at Governors State University.
Miscellaneous
-
Albert Ellis Institute
A non-profit organization, formerly known as the Institute
for Rational-Emotive Therapy, that takes a “humanistic,
action-oriented approach to emotional growth.’ -
Beck Institute for Cognitive Therapy and Research Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP)
A center dedicated to "improving services to children and youth
with emotional and behavioral problems." -
CounselorLink Home Page
Provides practical information on counseling & psychotherapy. -
Division of Psychology and Counseling: GSUHome page of GSU's Division of Psychology & Counseling.
-
Institute of Transpersonal Psychology (ITP)
A private graduate school & "a leader at the forefront of
psychological research and education." -
Mental Health: a Report of the Surgeon General
Seminal reports on Mental Health from the Surgeon General.

Loading...
