Social Work Journals - Families, Gerontology, Health Care, Mental Health, Teaching and EducationInternational/Multicultural, Research, Substance Abuse, General, Students, PolicyTechnology, Gender and Sexuality, Suggestion box
This is the "Home" page of the "Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work  

Last Updated: Mar 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.govst.edu/socialwork Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Encyclopedias, and Reference Books

  • Encyclopedia of Social Work (Continuously Updated) 2014-
    Building off the classic reference work, a valuable tool for social workers for over 85 years, the online resource of the same name offers the reliability of print with the accessibility of a digital platform. Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, scholars, and practitioners a trusted foundation for a lifetime of work and research, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.
  • Encyclopedia of Human Behavior
    The Encyclopedia of Human Behavior, Second Edition is a comprehensive three-volume reference source on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions. Presented alphabetically by title, 300 articles probe both enduring and exciting new topics in physiological psychology, perception, personality, abnormal and clinical psychology, cognition and learning, social psychology, developmental psychology, language, and applied contexts.
  • Encyclopedia of Chicago
  • Credo Reference Unlimited
    online reference service featuring over 250 full-text reference titles with over 3 million entries from 57 highly-respected publishers integrated in a robust search engine with many unique interactive features.
  • CQ Researcher
    CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy
  • Social Worker Desk Reference - Print - Library Reference Shelf
    Call Number: REF. HV40 .S6464 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Social Work 20th Edition 2008
    The 20th Edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work was published in print and in digital format in 2008. In 2013 the Encyclopedia of Social Work Online was introduced as a replacement. The Encyclopedias are very similar, but the Appendices in Volume IV, 20th Edition are unique

Indexes and Literature Databases

  • Social Work Abstracts (SWA) 1965-present
    (There is limit 5 simultaneous users. Please try again.) The Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains more than 35,000 records, spanning 1965 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. Over 450 journals are reviewed.
  • SocINDEX
    (EBSCO) SocINDEX is a primary research source in sociology and related fields. Search SocINDEX for information in all areas of sociological research, including criminology & criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, political sociology, social anthropology, social psychology, social work, substance abuse & addictions. Also included are conference papers, author profiles, and content from the Criminal Justice Abstracts database.
  • Academic Search Complete
    (EBSCO) Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
  • PsycINFO
    (EBSCO) PsycINFO contains more than 1.8 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in the the multidisciplinary field of behaviorial science and mental health. (PsycInfo links to full text articles in PsycArticles and other EBSCO databases)
  • ERIC  
      
    (EBSCO) - Indexes education journal articles and non-journal documents. Links to full text articles in EBSCO databases and documents at the ERIC website.
  • Social Science Module (ProQuest)
  • EBSCO
    (Illinois Digital Academic Library) Multiple databases, including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Elite, CINAHL with Full Text, Communication & Mass Media Complete, ERIC, Health Source, Mental Measurements Yearbook, MLA International, Newspaper Source, Primary Search, Professional Development Collection, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO,

Paul Blobaum

Profile Image
Paul Blobaum
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
Reference Office, D2410
708-534-4139 (leave a message)
pblobaum@govst.edu (pref
Send Email
 

Browse the Main Stacks

 Try these Library of Congress subject areas for browsing Social Work titles:

 Social Work
   
HV40 – HV69

Social Work Education  
   
 HV11 +

Social Work with Juveniles
   
HV7428

Social Work with Criminals
   HV7428

The Family, Marriage, Women
   HQ1 – HQ2044

Gays/Lesbians/
Bisexual/Transgendered
    HQ71 – HQ77, HV1449

Alcoholism/Drug Abuse
   HV5001 – HV5840

5/9/2011

 

Copyright © 2014 Governors State University | Privacy Policy
1 University Parkway, University Park, Illinois 60484-0975.
708.534.5000 library@govst.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip