This is the "Workshop Schedule" page of the "Library Instruction and Workshops" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Instruction and Workshops  

Last Updated: Mar 28, 2015 URL: http://libguides.govst.edu/instruction Print Guide RSS Updates

Workshop Schedule Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

WORKSHOP SCHEDULE - SPRING 2015


Although scheduled workshops for Spring 2015 have concluded,

you may still request a customized workshop or instruction session. 
Please view the Request Instruction or Workshops page for more information.


GSU LIBRARY WORKSHOPS - SPRING 2015

Online Library Resources: I-Share Catalog and E-Books
When: Monday, Feb. 16 & Tuesday, Feb. 17 from 3:00 until 4:15 p.m.
Where: Room Change - Now Cube D2430D
Each workshop will demonstrate how to use the I-Share Catalog to find GSU Library materials and request books from
other university libraries. We will show you how to create your personal I-Share account, explain how to retrieve e-books,
and review other features of the library catalog.  These workshops are part of the Student Success Program but
open to all students. Presented by L. Geller.

Online Library Resources: Databases and Journal Articles
When: Monday, Feb. 23 & Tuesday, Feb. 24 from 3:00 until 4:15 p.m.
Where: Room Change – Now Cube D2430D
Each workshop will demonstrate how to select library databases relevant to your paper topics or assignments.  We will show
common search strategies for all databases, explain how to interpret journal article records, and review other database features.
These workshops are part of the Student Success Program but open to all students. Presented by L. Geller.

Web of Knowledge Citation Indexes & EndNote
When: Wednesday, Feb 25 from 2:00 until 4:00 p.m.
Where: Library D2401B
This workshop will walk students through creating search strategies in Web of Knowledge which is a citation index. 
Searches will be conducted in – Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Index,
and also MEDLINE. It will briefly touch on how records generated from a search can be exported to bibliographic software
called ENDNOTE.  The workshop will also show how you can determine the quality of a journal by using citation metrics,
and advantages and disadvantages of citation analysis. Presented by S. Wagh.

How to Use EndNote! An Introduction
When: Monday March 2 from 3:15-4:15 p.m.
Where: Library D2401C.  Note: Attendance is limited to 15 participants.  Please register by emailing workshop instructor Ben Hubert [hubebenj@my.dom.edu]
Wish you could keep all of your citations all in one place? EndNote may be the one for you! This citation management system
allows you to: Collect reference citations from catalogs and databases, organize, and export a bibliographic list of your preferred
citation style into Microsoft Word, and more. This workshop will demonstrate how to use EndNote for your researching needs.

Introduction to Excel
When: Duplicate afternoon sessions Tuesday, March 3 canceled and Monday, March 9 from 2:00 until 4:00 p.m.
When: Duplicate morning sessions Tuesday, March 10  and Friday, March 13 from 9:30 until 11:30 a.m.
Where: Library D2401B. Note: Attendance limited to 10 participants. Please register by emailing workshop instructor Diane Nadler [dnadler@govst.edu]
We will be covering the toolbars, entering data, deleting data, copying and pasting. Attendees will also learn how to add,
subtract, divide and multiply.

How to Use Zotero! An Introduction  
When: Wednesday, March 4 from 2:00 until 4:00 p.m.
Where: Library D2401B. Note: Attendance limited to 15 participants.  Please register by emailing workshop instructor Ben Hubert [hubebenj@my.dom.edu] 
Tired of having multiple database saved folders, or just want a simpler way to store your citations all in one place? Zotero may
be the one for you! This free citation management plug-in on the Firefox web browser lets you: Auto-capture citations, organize
and link back to those citations, export a bibliographic list of your preferred style into Word, and more. This workshop will focus
on an introductory, hands-on training session in using Zotero for your researching needs.

Introduction to PowerPoint 2013
When: Tuesday, March 10 from 2:00 until 3:00 p.m.
Where: Library D2401B. Note: Attendance limited to 10 participants. Please register by emailing workshop instructor Larissa Smith [lsmith14@govst.edu]
This workshop will introduce you to the basics of PowerPoint 2013, the presentation program in the newest Microsoft Office suite.
It will demonstrate how to create an engaging presentation that can integrate images, narration and more.  This workshop will
cover slide and text basics, applying theme, inserting images, saving and printing your presentation.

Word for Beginners
When: Wednesday, March 11 from 2:00 until 3:00 p.m.
Where: Library D2401B.  Note: Attendance limited to 10 participants. Please register by emailing workshop instructor Jacklyn Egolf [jegolf@govst.edu]
Is this semester your first time using a computer to write a paper? Would you like a tour of the basic functions of Word 2013?
This one-hour hands-on workshop will cover the key functions of this latest version of the Microsoft word processor. It will
include fonts, margins, line spacing, centering, indenting, and headers.  This workshop is aimed at GSU students and
employees who can use a mouse, and would like to get more confident with the most-commonly used features in Word 2013.

OPUS - The GSU Scholarly Repository, at One Year  CANCELED
When: Tuesday, March 24 from 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.
Where: Library D2401A. Note: Walk-ins welcome, pre-registration appreciated via email to Paul Blobaum [pblobaum@govst.edu]
Learn about the new GSU Scholarly Repository platform, Digital Commons, and our new repository, OPUS: Open Portal to
University Scholarship.  In this workshop we will learn about the many types of materials that are accessible in the Digital
Commons network, and how to locate them.  We will also present the accomplishments of OPUS’s first year, showcasing
the local GSU collections, and sharing plans for the future. Presented by Paul Blobaum, Erin Engelbrecht, and Sarah Wegley.

Dissemination of Scholarship through Journal Publishing and Open Access
When: Thursday, March 26 from 1:30 – 3:00 p.m.
Where: Library D2401A. Note: Walk-ins welcome, pre-registration appreciated via email to Paul Blobaum [pblobaum@govst.edu]  
This 90 minute workshop will review the process of publishing in peer reviewed journals, and considerations for making your
work accessible through Open Access.  Topics to be discussed are:  Writing as a single author, collaborative writing projects,
selecting a journal for submission, the peer review process, avoidance of predatory publishers, posting your work in the GSU
scholarly repository, OPUS, and promoting your work through Selected Works. Presented by Paul Blobaum.


 
Questions about library workshops can be directed to Linda Geller, 708-534-4136

 
Copyright © 2014 Governors State University | Privacy Policy
1 University Parkway, University Park, Illinois 60484-0975.
708.534.5000 library@govst.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip